Skip to content

Exclusive club

August 11, 2011

In Chittorgarh I woke up feeling weird. By the evening this had turned into the constant feeling I was going to throw up or something worse. Three days of this, bed and eating only small amounts of very plain food, then we were back in Udaipur and I’d had enough. I was going to go to the sari shop with everyone else and would just deal with my stomach. A few sari’s later (‘look at this, feel this, feel this, it’s real silk’) the gentleman said he had more sari’s at his house nearby, would we like to come? A short auto ride later at his house amongst piles of saris I started to feel really sick again. I told the guys I’d meet them at home and headed off to find an auto.

I walked round the corner and realised that after days of feeling like vomiting, I was actually going to do it. I was right opposite a bunch of people in their early 20s waiting at a bus stop, so I put my hand over my mouth and scouted for a good spot further on. Unfortunately my body wasn’t willing to wait, it was going to happen now. Because I had my hand clamped over my mouth, the surge had no choice but to escape the only way it could; through my nose.

After a quick spew in the gutter, the bus stop kids asked me if I was okay. Resisting my sarcasm urges I turned my very gross face toward them, said no and asked if there was a bathroom nearby. There wasn’t. So the next 15 mins saw me repeatedly vomiting into the drain until I was just retching up nothing. Thankgod I had a water bottle to freshen up slightly and apologise to the bus stop gang and drag my sorry, chunk covered self back to the hotel. I’m surprised the auto driver didn’t charge me and extra ‘smell’ cost.

Point of the story is I think I’ve joined an exclusive ‘nose vomit’ club. Any others? If you’re a member, please comment below and share the love.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Alanna Bromley permalink
    August 12, 2011 11:06 am

    Oh no Lucy ๐Ÿ˜ฆ So sorry to hear you’ve been sick! I think I have definitely experienced a nose vomit at some stage…having weird flashbacks to primary school after reading your story anyway! So take heart, you aren’t alone in the club!
    I hope you are feeling much better soon ๐Ÿ™‚
    And the photos are absolutely gorgeous, I love pretending like I am there with you haha, and I love the little moving slideshow cow haha. Keep them coming!
    Miss you! xx

  2. August 13, 2011 5:23 am

    I’m feeling much better now, thankyou. But it gave me great comfort to know that I am not alone in the club! I have to say it would probably have been a much worse experience in primary school though, I’m glad you made it through the traumatic experience unscathed! Wish you were here too. xo

  3. August 24, 2011 1:03 pm

    G’day Lucy, I’m a member too, mine was in the centre of Damascus near some serious looking military types… But it is a bit of an exclusive club, not everyone can say they’ve experienced throwing up in a public place in a foreign country at least ๐Ÿ™‚

    Looks like you’re having a nuts time! I’m thinking of maybe heading over that way next year, so I’ll keep an eye on the blog to see what it’s like and get some ideas… Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

