Skip to content

The Dekeling Hotel

October 27, 2011

The trip is actually coming to a close. After thinking that 4 months was plenty of time to do everything and go everywhere, we are all scrambling to see the things we want to see before we leave, and therefore have been poor bloggers. We’ve all handed in our work and passed our courses (phew!). Rooya is in Delhi, Karl is in Lucknow, Pat is in Udaipur and I’m in Darjeeling.

 On the plane on the way here I was able to see the Himalayas soaring out of the clouds in a long line as far as the eye could see. They were covered in snow and glistening in the sun. Pretty impressive.

The 3 hour drive up the mountain to Darjeeling, over 2000m above sea level, was just as memorable, with rough and narrow roads, sheer cliffs, hairpin bends, two way 4WD and truck traffic, stunning views and an insane, speeding driver. I had stayed up for my flight after Diwali last night and so was dead on my feet after gripping the seat hard for 3 hours.

The photo above is just about the view from my room (click the photo for credits). I’m staying at the Dekeling Hotel, run by the family of our NID good friend, Honey. I am drinking lots of delicious tea, eating amazing Tibetan food, listening to left over Diwali crackers and wearing all my warmest clothes.

I will try to post up a few more photos before the closure of our trip and thus this blog, but it may take a while as I am busy soaking up my last moments. In the meantime, thank you to everyone who has read the blog, it’s been fun sharing with you.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 28, 2011 5:57 am

    incredible! can’t believe it’s nearly over for you, though you’ve still got quite a few adventures left 😉

Leave a Reply

